How Do I Become a Dealer?
Download, complete and send DMV a completed dealer application with the city/county location approval. The application must also list name, residence address, signature of the owner, all partners and all primary corporate officers or all LCC members.
You must also file:
- Copies of official photo ID's (valid driver license or valid state-issued identification card ONLY) for all owners, partners, LLC members or corporate officers.
- A bond completed by your surety company in the amount of $40,000. The bond requirement for dealers exclusively dealing motorcycles/mopeds, snowmobiles or Class I ATVs is $2,000.
- Unless exempt under Oregon Revised Statute 822.027, have your agent complete the DMV Certificate of Insurance Form 370B included in the dealer application forms package. If exempt under ORS 822.027, complete the Certificate of Exemption from Liability Insurance.
- Submit fees as follows: $1,012 for vehicle dealers.
- Submit a certificate evidencing completion of eight hours of dealer education, unless exempt under Oregon Revised Statute 822.027. The current provider is: Oregon Independent Auto Dealers Association (OIADA) (503) 362-6839 or (800) 447-0302. If exempt under ORS 822.027, complete the Certificate of Exemption from Dealer Education.
Note: ALL new dealer applications are subject to investigation, which can add additional time to the processing of an application. NO dealer business can be transacted until the application has been approved.
In addition to printing the dealer application packet material from this website, you can also obtain DMV forms by calling DMV Business Regulations at (503) 945-5052 or pick one up at any DMV field office or at:
Driver and Motor Vehicle Services
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem OR 97314